It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Intended primarily for use in the first few weeks of the first-semester legal writing course, The Pre-writing Handbook for Law Students: A Step-by-Step Guide takes a systematic approach to the process of preparing to write legal memos, briefs, and other documents. The Handbook is designed to help students focus on and become competent in the process of legal analysis that precedes their work on a written product. The Handbook is uniquely designed to help students gauge their own progress as they work through the pre-writing process. The confidence students will gain from engaging in the pre-writings process outlined in the Handbook will translate into a smoother, more effective writing process and a better written product.
Beyond the First Draft helps law students and lawyers approach the often difficult task of editing their own writing. The book starts with the fundamental idea that good writing is organized, vigorous, clear, and polished. Its ultimate goal is to help students and practitioners understand that good writing cannot be accomplished in a single draft; good writers must be good editors.
Each chapter of the book is organized around one of the principles of good writing and begins with an editing checklist for accomplishing that principle of good writing. The book explains each item in the checklist, providing students and lawyers with the instruction and straightforward editing tips that they need to become effective editors.
Plain English for Lawyers has been a favorite of law students, legal writing teachers, lawyers, and judges for almost 40 years. The sixth edition, updates this classic text, including new chapter exercises, while preserving all the approaches that make it such a standard in the field.
In this 3.25 hour audio lecture, Professor Robert C. Berring will lead you step-by-step through every topic in legal research. The information and ideas you struggled with previously are now brought to life simply and succinctly. These audio lectures are time saving, convenient and effective. You may also access individual chapters of the lecture. Audio may be downloaded using the West Academic Library App for listening on the go.
Black's Law Dictionary by A. Bryan Garner (Editor-In-Chief)This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
Call Number: KF 156.B53
Publication Date: 2014-05-01
Burton's Legal Thesaurus by William C. BurtonTHE FIRST AND MOST COMPREHENSIVE LEGAL THESAURUS EVER PUBLISHED Updated with 1,000 essential new terms--from "whistleblower" to "bailout" The first book of its kind when it was orginally published in 1980, Burton's Legal Thesaurus has become a staple for everyone in the legal profession.
Call Number: KF156 .B856 2013 Reference
Publication Date: 2013-09-26
The Redbook by Bryan GarnerSince first appearing in 2002, Bryan Garner's The Redbook: A Manual on Legal Style has established itself as the go-to source for all questions of legal style (apart from citation form). The book isn't just one talented man's effort: Garner has two experienced coauthors plus a hands-on team of 54 editorial advisers, most of whom have long and valuable experience teaching LRW. The book is a one-of-a-kind resource--the legal writer's equivalent of The AP Stylebook or The Chicago Manual of Style. The brand-new fourth edition has lots of new material, including an especially helpful new chapter on handling quotations. The two exhaustive indexes (word and subject), plus the detailed table of contents, make it easy to find authoritative guidance within seconds, whatever the question might be. The author, Bryan Garner, is now the most frequently cited author in opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court. It's true: last term, four of his books were cited a total of 14 times (in the somewhat fewer than 90 cases decided). This term the count is on a similar pace. In American appellate decisions generally, Garner is at the top end of sources relied on. You can rely on him, too, in the most comprehensive, nitty-gritty resource available for legal writers: The Redbook. Don't leave home without it.
Call Number: Law Library Reserve
Publication Date: 2018-06-27
Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers by Deborah E. BouchouxBuy anew versionof this Connected Casebook and receiveaccessto theonline e-book,practice questionsfrom your favorite study aids, and anoutline toolon CasebookConnect, the all in one learning solution for law school students. CasebookConnect offers you what you need most to be successful in your law school classes - portability, meaningful feedback, and greater efficiency. The Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers, a brief and accessible reference on mechanics and style, is a useful companion to any legal writing text. Targetedat the needs of legal writers, the text initially focuses on the rules of grammar, style, and usage--with plenty of examples. A section on Legal Documentsoffers strategies to improve legal writing, with sample letters, memorandum, case brief, trial brief, and appellate brief. Numerous, helpful examples showcaseboth good and bad writing. This practical approach helps law students with common problems and dilemmas: substitutions for "legalese," lists of commonly used legal idioms, spellingtips, advice on organization and the legal writing process, proofreading, and document design. Modeled after handbooks used at the undergraduate level,the Handbook features a small trim size, comb-binding, clear organization, two-color printing, and helpful design elements to highlight importantinformation. Distinctive features designed with the student in mind include Websites for each topic addressed, Tips and Strategies to highlight key topicssuch as breaking writers'' blocks, meeting deadlines, communicating by email and text messaging, ethics notes, and Challenge Exercises in each chapterto test mastery. A brief Table of Contents on the inside front cover and Style Sheet on the inside back cover offer quick reference. Key Features: For all writers, pragmatic and useful information is given on beginning the writing process, tips to meet deadlines, common legal conventions or traditions, common blunders made by legal writers, and proofreading and document design. The fundamental features of legal writing (accuracy, readability, clarity, and brevity) are covered in depth. Quiz or ''Challenge'' questions test readers'' comprehension of the material and showcase methods to improve writing. Sample documents are provided for the most common types of legal writings, including: Sample demand letter Sample opinion letter Sample legal memorandum Sample trial court brief Sample appellate brief (which includes a table of authorities) Sample case brief Sample litigation document (a complaint for breach of contract) Sample transactional document (a joint venture agreement) Electronic communications are covered-twenty tips for using email in a professional setting are given, along with tips for web conferences, texting, and communicating through social media. The Handbook also includes an Appendix on English as a Second Language, which should be helpful to students and new attorneys whose language of origin is not English. CasebookConnectfeatures: ONLINE E-BOOK Law school comes with a lot of reading, so access your enhanced e-book anytime, anywhere to keep up with your coursework. Highlight, take notes in the margins, and search the full text to quickly find coverage of legal topics. PRACTICE QUESTIONS Quiz yourself before class and prep for your exam in the Study Center. Practice questions fromExamples & Explanations,Emanuel Law Outlines,Emanuel Law in a Flashflashcards, and other best-selling study aid series help you study for exams while tracking your strengths and weaknesses to help optimize your study time. OUTLINE TOOL Most professors will tell you that starting your outline early is key to being successful in your law school classes. The Outline Tool automatically populates your notes and highlights from the e-book into an editable format to accelerate your outline creation and increase study time later in the semester.