It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This book is available in print on Reserve, or online through the Law Library's subscription to the Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Library. A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Each guide helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language; challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class; and provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals.
This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features: Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation and invasion of privacy. Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions. Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course. In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy.
This link is for the Restatement (Third) on WESTLAW. You must be logged in with your WESTLAW credentials to access it.
Hornbook on the Law of Torts by Dan B. DobbsPrint book is available on Reserve in the Law Library, or access the book online through the library's subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Collection. A single-volume introduction to contemporary tort and injury law. This expert summary covers direct and intentional interference with person or property and explores their defenses. Reviews liabilities, damages, and the apportionment of responsibility among parties, and examines the criticism and choices in tort law. Economic and dignitary injury is considered as well.
This link is to the Treatise on WESTLAW. You must log in to your WESTLAW account to access it. The treatise has more details and more case citations than the hornbook. Use this source if you are looking for in depth coverage of very specific topics.
Other Study Aids
The most current version of each study aid is on Reserve. Older editions are available in the A-Z Collection located in the West Stacks. See the catalog for more information.
Questions and AnswersThe book includes 202 questions organized by topic. The multiple-choice questions require students to pick the best of a list, the worst of a list, or the story that illustrates a point of doctrine most effectively. The short answers require analysis of scenarios and communication of discrete points. The Practice Final Exam and Essay Issue-Spotter Questions contain an additional 54 questions. Older editions available in the West Stacks.
Call Number: KF1250.Z9 B47 2018 RESERVE
Publication Date: 2018-03-25
Torts Stories by Robert L. Rabin; Stephen D. SugarmanThis book is available in print and online through the Law Library's subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Library. This publication provides a student with an understanding of ten leading torts cases, focusing on how the litigation was shaped by lawyers, judges and socioeconomic factors, and why the cases have attained landmark status.
Call Number: KF1249 .T68 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Audio materials are available on Reserve and Online through the Law Library's subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Library. Please go to the Information Desk to check out audio CDs or use your CU Law credentials to access West Academic Study Aids.
Sum and Substance Audio on Torts by Steven R. Finz; Lawrence C. LevineUse the West Academic Library app to listen on your mobile device. While commuting or exercising learn about battery; assault; false imprisonment; intentional infliction of emotional distress; defense of self, others, property; recapture of chattel, trespass to land, trespass to chattel, conversion, public/private necessity, consent; negligence: duty, breach, proximate cause, joint tortfeasers; damages: nominal, punitive, and compensatory; surviving personal injury actions; wrongful death, wrongful birth/life, strict liability, affirmative defense to negligence with economic advantage, nuisance, misuse of judicial process, products liability, defamation and related torts, invasions of privacy.
Call Number: KF1250 F46 2010 RESERVE
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
Torts (Law School Legends Audio) by Richard J. ConviserDownload to the West Academic Library app for listening on your mobile device. The Law School Legends Torts lecture on CD includes information on Intentional Torts: Battery, Assault, False Imprisonment, Intentional Infliction of Emotional Distress, Trespass to Land, Trespass to Chattels, Conversion; Defenses to Intentional Torts: Consent, Defense Privileges, Necessity; Plaintiff's Dignitary Interests: Defamation, First Amendment, Invasion of Right to Privacy; Negligence: Duty, Breach, Causation, Damages; Defenses to Negligence; Strict Liability; Products Liability; and Vicarious Liability.