Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

1L Toolkit: Contracts

Professor Recommendations

Cover Acing Contracts

Acing Contracts

This study aid features a checklist format to lead students through questions they need to ask to fully evaluate the legal problem they are trying to solve. It also synthesizes the material in a way that most students are unable to do on their own, and assembles the different issues, presenting a clear guide to procedural analysis that students can draw upon when writing their exams. Also available through the Law Library's subscription to the WEST Academic Study Aids Collection.

Brain's Exam Pro on Contracts, Essay

This Exam Pro consists of essay questions actually given by Contracts professors throughout the United States. Every question contains a detailed explanation, along with analytical steps explained in easy-to-understand, basic language, and a step-by-step guide on how to analyze each major issue. Both Professor “model” answers and student “actual” answers are provided to allow students to get a feel for all the issues that could have been discussed on some questions, and what is realistic for a student to actually answer under timed conditions. Available through the Law Library's subscription to the WEST Academic Study Aids Collection.

Cover: Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts

Chirelstein's Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts, 7th (Concepts and Insights Series)

Recommended in more than 100 schools, the updated seventh edition of Concepts and Case Analysis in the Law of Contracts is a readable primer that offers first-year law students a reliable overview of the major themes and leading cases in the field of the law of contracts. This contracts primer is straightforward and uncluttered, covering the main themes of the first-year contracts course, together with related cases. Also available as an eBook through our subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Collection.

Cover: Principles of Contract Law

Principles of Contract Law, 2d, the Concise Hornbook Series

This overview of contract law explains concepts clearly and concisely, in an informal, humorous style. For ease of reading and understanding, the book omits footnotes that often increase the difficulty and complexity of the issues. Instead, the footnotes cite cases, with most including short quotations to substantiate assertions made in the text. It also contains numerous examples and illustrations, often with the reader assigned a role in the problem, on the theory that the reader will be most interested and attentive with something at stake. Cross references enable review concepts that constitute building blocks for the current material. Also available through the Law Library's subscription to the WEST Academic Study Aids Collection.

Cover: A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts

A Short and Happy Guide to Contracts

This efficient and exceedingly effective guide to Contracts will help you see the big picture. The authors focus on making the key concepts of contract law, and the relationship among those concepts, easier to understand and retain. The authors have also infused the book with humor, believing there is nothing inconsistent between a rigorous academic experience and having a little fun. Each of the authors is nationally-renowned law teacher who has taught Contracts for decades. Based on that experience, in this book they have set forth understandable techniques for mastering the law governing each critical aspect of the contract relationship, including, contract formation (offer and acceptance), enforcement (consideration and defenses), interpretation, performance, breach, and remedies. This book is available through the Law Library's subscription to the WEST Academic Study Aids Collection.

Other Study Aids

The most current version of each study aid is on Reserve. Older editions are available in the A-Z collection located in the West Stacks. See the catalog for more information.

Audio Materials

In addition to the online Audio materials listed here, the Law Library has some audio materials on Reserve. Check at the circulation desk to learn more.

Required Texts


Concordia University Home | Contact | 501 West Front Street, Boise, Idaho 83702 | 208-639-5401