It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Glannon Guides can help you better understand your classroom lecture with straightforward explanations of tough concepts with hypos that help you understand their application. Both correct and incorrect answers are explained; you learn why a solution does or does not work. Glannon Guides provide straightforward explanations of complex legal concepts, often in a humorous style that makes material stick.
Available as part of the Law Library's subscription to the Wolters-Kluwer Online Study Aid Library.
Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam. Available in print and through the Law Library's subscription to the Wolters Kluwer Study Aids Library.
Treatises and forms
Treatises are usually multi-volume works that provide an in-depth discussion of a topic. These are not typical study aids, but may be useful for the student who wants to go further in researching a specific topic. The links below take you to the electronic version of two of the most authoritative treatises in the field.
Form books can help students see what common documents like complaints, answers, or motions should look like. In addition to Bender's Federal Forms, listed below, you can find forms in the Westlaw, and Practicing Law Institute PLI Plus databases. For example, try West's Federal Forms, District Courts--Civil. In PLI Plus, select Browse then Forms.
Civil Procedure by Jack H. Friedenthal; Mary Kay Kane; Arthur R. MillerGain insight into the laws governing all of the major steps in the civil litigation process, starting with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. This text covers the major themes underlying the governing legal standards and those basic issues that the case law and literature suggest to be the most pressing. References to federal practice and procedure are provided with a discussion on the burden of complex, multi-party litigation on the judicial system. This book is available through our West Academic Study Aids collection. Click on link above and login to access.
Call Number: KF8840 .F72 2005
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Civil Procedure by Richard D. FreerPopular casebook author Freer makes the complex principles of civil procedure accessible and fun for students in this student treatise. Using humor, real-world examples and light-hearted scholarship, he breaks down the doctrines of civil procedure into easy-to-understand components, and then brings them together to show how they form a comprehensive body of law. The Third Edition has been updated to include discussion of key new Supreme Court and lower court decisions that are reshaping civil procedure law. It also includes revisions to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and provides commentary on e-discovery, including the problem of waiver of privilege for inadvertent production.
Call Number: KF8839 .F745 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-07
Civil Procedure Stories by Kevin M. ClermontThis book is a collaborative effort by 14 law school professors to provide a deeper understanding of leading civil procedure cases. The professors each authored a short chapter on one of the cases, retelling the case in their own voice and by their own method. Each chapter contains sections on social and legal background of the case; factual background of the case; lower court proceedings in the case; final appellate disposition, including issues, decisions, reasons, and separate opinions; factual postscript to the case; immediate impact of the case on the development of the law; and continuing importance of the case today.
Call Number: KF8839 .C455 2008
Publication Date: 2008-03-03
Principles of Civil Procedure by Kevin M. ClermontIt focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation and a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation), and then some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the big idea the student is supposed to take from the topic.
Understanding Civil Procedure by Gene R. Shreve; Peter Raven-Hansen; Charles GeyhCoverage includes: Selecting a court : an introduction -- A court with jurisdiction over persons and things -- Notice and opportunity to be heard -- A court with jurisdiction over the subject -- A convenient court -- Ascertaining the applicable law -- Simple pleading and practice -- Complex pleading and practice -- Discovery -- Disposition without trial -- Trial and post-trial motions -- Appeal -- Remedies -- Respect for final judgments.
Convenient and effective, Sum and Substance Audio Set on Civil Procedure, 8th presents the essentials of civil procedure in a clear, succinct, time-saving format. Available through the Law Library's subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Collection.
This audio lecture covers subject matter jurisdiction, personal jurisdiction, long arm statutes, and constitutional limitations. It also discusses in rem and quasi in rem jurisdiction, service of process, venue, transfer, forum non conviens, removal, waiver, governing law, pleadings, joinder of claims, and several other topics. Available through the Law Library's subscription to the West Academic Study Aids Collection.