Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

Idaho Legal Information Sources Guide : Legislative Branch Sources of Law

The Idaho Legal Information Sources Guide is intended to familiarize students with sources of Idaho law. The guide covers legislative, judicial and executive sources of law.

Guide Table of Contents

Legislative Sources

·         Idaho Constitution

·         Idaho Code

·         Idaho Advance Code Service

·         Session Laws and Bill Tracking

·         Legislative Journals

·         Legislative Rules

·         Legislative Session Summary

 

Judicial Sources

·         Reporters

·         Digests

·         Citators

·         Court Rules

·         Snake River Basin Adjudication

 

Executive Sources

·         Executive Branch Website

·         Attorney General Opinions

·         Office of the Governor

·         Office of the Secretary of State

·         Administrative Materials

·         Ethics Materials

 

Journals and Law Reviews

 

Practice Materials

Legislative Rules

Rules of the House of Representatives and Joint Rules. Boise, Idaho: The Legislature, annual.

Rules of the Senate and Joint Rules, Senate and House. Boise, Idaho: The Legislature, annual.

Access is provided through the Idaho Legislature website.  Rules include Rules of the House of Representatives, Rules of the Senate and Joint Rules. 

Legislative Session Summary

Legislative Session Summary. Boise: Idaho Legislative Services.

The Sine Die Report provides a summary of actions taken during the legislative session. PDFs of the reports are available on the Idaho Legislature website from the Prior Sessions Menu.  The reports go back to 2003.

Constitution

The text of the Idaho Constitution is available in volume 1 of Idaho Code Annotated (Michie) and volume 1 of West's Idaho Code Annotated. Both versions of the Idaho Code are available in the East Stacks of the library. 

The text of the Idaho Constitution is available online through the State of Idaho Legislature’s website.  The text of the Constitution is searchable from the link provided or from the homepage. 

Westlaw and Lexis also provide access to the Idaho Constitution. Earlier versions of the Idaho Constitution are available through HeinOnline, and in the Idaho Archive located in the West Stacks.

 

Proceedings and Debates of the Constitutional Convention of Idaho, 1889. Caldwell, Idaho: Caxton Printers, Ltd., 1912.

Located in the East Stacks.

 

Idaho Code

Two versions of the Idaho Code are available in the George R. White Law Library. The Idaho Code Annotated (Michie) and West's Idaho Code Annotated are located in the East Stacks of the Library. Historic statutory materials are available in the Idaho Archive located in the West Stacks.

Electronic versions of the Idaho Code are also available. An unannotated version of the Idaho Code is available on the Idaho Legislature website. An electronic version is also available through Westlaw and Lexis. Both databases support browsing and searching. 

Idaho Advance Code Service

Idaho Advance Code Service. Charlottesville, Va.: Michie, 1981-.

The Idaho Advance Code Service provides access to laws passed during the legislative session.  Electronic access is provided to students through Lexis and LexisAdvance. 

In Lexis, select “Find a Source” under the Search tab.  Then type “Idaho” or “Idaho Advance Legislative Service” in the search bar.  Select the database for Idaho Advance Legislative Service to begin searching the database.

In LexisAdvance, select “Browse Sources.”  You can search for “Idaho Advance Legislative Service” or select the “I” to view all databases and then select Idaho Advance Legislative Service from the list.

Lexis is regularly updated to provide coverage as laws are passed. 

Session Laws and Bill Tracking

General Laws of the State of Idaho. Caldwell, Idaho: Caxton Printers, 1890-.

This is the official publication of general and special laws enacted during a legislative session. It includes a subject index, index of code sections affected, lists of House and Senate bills enacted, lists of joint memorials and lists of concurrent resolutions. Session laws are available in the East Stacks and in the Idaho Archive located in the West Stacks.

Session laws for the current legislative session are also available on the Idaho Legislature webpage. The website provides access to the current legislative session as well as sessions going back several years. A link at the bottom of the page enables users to conduct keyword searches of legislative sessions going back to 1998.  

 

MiniData. Boise, Idaho: Legislative Services Office, 1973-.

MiniData provides information on a bill’s status. There is one daily bill sheet for the House and one daily bill sheet for the Senate.  At the end of a legislative session, a Final MiniData is issued. MiniData is available from the Idaho Legislature webpage.

 

Legislative Perspective. Boise: Idaho Legislative Services, 1993-.

Legislative Perspective is a newsletter covering committee activities, legislative audits updates, lists of proposed agency rules, budget updates, and new acquisitions to the legislative library.  Issues go back to 2004.

 

Bill tracking is also available through Westlaw and LexisNexis.

Legislative Journals

Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of Idaho. Boise, Idaho: House of Representatives, 1890-.

Journal of the State Senate of the Idaho Legislature. Boise, Idaho: Senate, 1890-.

The Idaho House of Representatives and Senate are both constitutionally required to keep a journal of proceedings. The journals are day-to-day accounts of action taken; however, they do not provide a verbatim transcript of proceedings. The House records proceedings in the Journal of the House of Representatives of the State of Idaho, and the Senate records proceedings in the Journal of the State Senate of the Idaho Legislature. The journals are available on the Idaho Legislature website from the Prior Sessions Menu.

 

Current and past journals for both the House and the Senate are also available through the Idaho Digital Repository; which provides searchable access to digital publications created by state agencies. 


Concordia University Home | Contact | 501 West Front Street, Boise, Idaho 83702 | 208-639-5401