Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Journals
The article and journal sources on this page can help you with performing arts research. Articles are best for current or narrow topics, or to research artists who are less well-known. For information on broad topics or background on very famous performers or playwrights, try Dictionaries & Encyclopedias.
Click the link below to locate journals found within library databases. To find articles, use the search within the database once you've identified in which database full text is found.
Request an Article
Is the full text of your article not available in a database? Request it from Interlibrary Loan. Articles generally arrive in 7-10 days.
Interlibrary Loan Login
Listed below are the databases that include the most coverage for the performing arts.
Full text archive of over 1100 scholarly journals of major importance in many fields. Most titles are available from their first issue up to 2-5 years ago.
Fine Arts OneFile (Gale)
Information on hundreds of arts-related topics from Hip Hop to Handel, film movements and trends, elementary music education, advanced music theory, art therapy and architectural trends and movements.
News OneFile (Gale)
Provides access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers and leading international newspapers.
Database Access Off Campus
The Libraries provide off-campus access to research databases through the University's private network.
If prompted to login, enter your CU network ID and password (e.g. mhernandez, your Blackboard login) to access articles and ebooks.