Skip to main content

The Center for Volga German Studies (CVGS)

About the Center

Our Collections
The CVGS actively collects the folklore, songs, literature, objects of art and craft which illustrate and document the style and mode of life, conditions, events and activities, forms and style of worship and government of the Volga Germans while living in Russia as well as after emigrating to the Western hemisphere and the cultural, material, and aesthetic contributions of Germans from Russia or their descendants to the culture and social order of the Western Hemisphere. These materials are acquired by bequest, purchase, gift, or accepted on loan and are included, but are not limited to:

  • Current and historical reference materials
  • Books by and about Volga-German authors, researchers, and scholars
  • Objects of art, science, industry, and skill
  • Papers and manuscripts
  • Journals
  • Tapes and DVDs (audio and video)
  • Photographs
  • Microforms

The Center preserves and exhibits these collections as far as it is practicable. The Center operates and maintains a central archive of these materials. The Collections of the CVGS are open to the public, but do not circulate. >>LEARN MORE

Research and Reference services

Volunteers experienced with our collections and genealogy research assist individuals with inquiries both in person and virtually via email.

Collaboration
‚Äč
The Center maintains a web-based clearing house for identifying the location of original manuscripts related to the Volga Germans. Researchers, scholars, and others knowledgeable about such materials are actively solicited for contributions to this clearing house. While much of the research done on Volga Germans requires a working knowledge of German and or Russian, the primary language of the CVGS is English. 

It is known that unique collections of materials relating to the Volga Germans exist elsewhere, particularly in governmental and quasi-governmental facilities out side of North America. Consequently, one of the important roles of the Center is to actively seek assistance from and provide assistance to other organizations in the collection, documentation, indexing, and preservation of such materials pertaining to Volga Germans.

AMERICAN HISTORICAL SOCIETY OF GERMANS FROM RUSSIA
GERMANS FROM RUSSIA HERITAGE COLLECTION, NDSU LIBRARY, FARGO, ND
VOLGA GERMAN CULTURAL CENTER OF ARGENTINA
LANDSMANNSCHAFT DER DEUTSCHEN AUS RUSSLAND
VOLGA GERMAN ARCHIVES IN ENGELS, RUSSIA

Education
The CVGS sponsors conferences on various aspects of Volga German history, folklore, linguistics, and culture in order to educate those interested about the Volga Germans. These events take place on the Concordia campus or elsewhere depending upon the availability of appropriate space(s). 

/**/