Skip to main content

M.Ed. Research Guide and Library Resources: Interlibrary Loan

Access to library resources for M.Ed. students.

Finding full text with the Get Article button

Title page of video: Finding full text with the Get Article button

Interlibrary Loan

What is interlibrary loan (ILL)?

If you need an article that Concordia University does not have (in print or online), we will try to get it for you from another library. This is a free service for students. 

Who may use this service?

Only currently registered students, faculty, and staff of Concordia University may borrow through ILL. All others should make their requests through the ILL department of their local public library. 

What about books?

The library mails books in our print collection to off campus students (see Books by Mail to the right). If you need a book that our library does not have, we will first try to help you locate it at a library near you and/or direct you to the interlibrary loan service of your local public library. Because of the short length of many online courses, for example the 5-week MEd courses, there usually isn't enough time for us to request a book from another library and mail it to you in a timely way. However, if time is not an issue and using a library near you is not an option, you are able to use the Concordia interlibrary loan service to request books.

If you have questions about interlibrary loan, contact Concordia University at library@cu-portland.edu or call 503-493-6461.

 

Books by Mail

Books can be shipped to an address you designate (home or office, for example). The Library will cover the cost of shipping the materials to you; you must pay for the cost of return shipping.

To return books to the library, you may deliver them in person or mail them. If returning books by mail, they should be appropriately packaged to ensure safe return to the University and shipped by a trackable delivery source (e.g., UPS). All due dates for return of materials, as outlined in the Circulation Policy, apply to mailed materials.

Materials from the current and bound periodicals collection, the reference collection, the Curriculum Lab, the map collection, and materials housed in the Science Library may not be shipped off campus.

Copies of articles from the library's print collection can be emailed to you. To request a mailed book or emailed article from the CU library's print collection, use the Interlibrary Loan Login and note that the item is in print at Concordia.