Skip to main content
This guide provides you with resources to complete required research assignments. Find information on how to locate the DSM-5, reference resources (e.g. dictionaries and encyclopedias), articles, books, and online resources.
Session Goals: You will be able to...
- Create effective searches in PsycARTICLES using keywords, Boolean operators, and limits
- Identify primary research articles and describe how they differ from secondary sources
- Locate books in OneSearch (our catalog)
- Request books and articles not in the CU Library's collections
, Community Resources & Programs
, Copyright, Fair Use, & Plagiarism
, Environmental Science
, Foreign Languages
, Health & Physical Education
, Health Care Administration
, International Development & Service
, Religion & Theology
, Social Work
, University Foundation Resources
OneSearch - Find Books, Articles, & More
Subject Specific Databases
Full text searchable dictionaries in the fields of art, history, literature, religion, foreign languages, science, social sciences and medicine.
This database offers full-text articles for journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals. Many titles go back to volume 1, issue 1.
Psychology OneFile (Gale)
Contains more than 3 million articles on topics in research, clinical psychology, case studies, and more.
Full text archive of over 1100 scholarly journals of major importance in many fields. Most titles are available from their first issue up to 2-5 years ago.
Many films under the category of treating psychological disorders are available for viewing.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development.
Call Number: Reference - On Reserve
Publication Date: 2013-05-22
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health by "The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health presents authoritative and comprehensive information on 500 topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders, drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM). The new edition reflects suggested additions and changes to the forthcoming DSM-5 and includes over 65 new entries, photos of common medications, and age- and gender-specific topics such as juvenile bipolar disorder, late-life depression, and conditions specific to men and women. "
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.
Psych Central is the Internet’s largest and oldest independent mental health online resource. This website has been run by mental health professionals offering reliable, trusted information and over 250 support groups to consumers.