Skip to main content
Banner Image

Bankruptcy Law Research Guide: Scholarly Journals and Current Awareness

This guide introduces students to sources for researching bankruptcy law in the United States. It may also be of use to practitioners and the general public.

Scholarly Journals

American Bankruptcy Institute Law Review
Available on HeinOnline (full coverage), WestlawNext (full coverage), LexisAdvance (full coverage), and Bloomberg LawPublished twice a year by West, is among the most respected scholarly publications in the bankruptcy community. Free to ABI members, the ABI Law Review has the largest circulation of any bankruptcy law review. 

American Bankruptcy Institute Law Journal
Available on HeinOnline (full coverage), WestlawNext, and LexisAdvance. A peer reviewed journal that publishes learned articles focusing on bankruptcy law and related subjects. It promotes the exchange of ideas about and a deeper understanding of bankruptcy issues,particularly among its core audience that includes judges, bankruptcy professionals, academics, legislators and other policymakers. 

Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal
Available on HeinOnline (full coverage), WestlawNext, LexisAdvance, and BloombergLaw. Published since 1984 and the only student-run bankruptcy journal in the United States, the Emory Bankruptcy Developments Journal publishes semi-annually and hosts a symposium in the spring. This widely-read journal provides a forum for research, debate, and information for practitioners, scholars and the public.

Norton Annual Survey of Bankruptcy Law
Available on WestlawNextPublished by the authors of the Norton treatise, this journal includes articles on bankruptcy topics of current interest and describes developments in bankruptcy law annually.

News and Current Awareness

Search all Bankruptcy Analysis available on WestlawNext for updated bankruptcy news and updates. Or navigate to specific contents below to get updates from your favorite source(s).

Bloomberg/BNA's Bankruptcy Law Reporter (ISSN:1522-5313) is a great current awareness reading, which provides daily and weekly news coverage of commercial and consumer bankruptcy law and major commercial cases. And don't forget other good readings available through either All Bankruptcy News or Bloomberg & Other Bankruptcy News.

LexisNexis Bankruptcy Report is another another narrowly-focused newsletter. This report covers new and existing bankruptcy filings, litigation or disputes that ensue from them and challenges to the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act (BAPCPA) of 2005, the most significant changes to bankruptcy law in 25 years. The BAPCPA amended nearly all Bankruptcy Code provisions. The articles contained in the MEABKR file follow any potential legislation that would further amend the code and cover topics such as credit counseling, discharge and the role of trustees. To access more Bankruptcy related news on LexisAdvance, please visit:

Websites and Blogs


Concordia University Home | Contact | 501 West Front Street, Boise, Idaho 83702 | 208-639-5401