Skip to main content
Starting your Research
Below are some databases that might be helpful as you start your research. Your instructor requires that you find and use peer reviewed articles. Peer reviewed means that an article that is written by a scholar is reviewed by other scholars in the field before it is allowed to be published. This ensures that it meets quality standards.
Limiting your search results to only articles that have been peer reviewed varies by database. However, most of them have a checkbox that can be marked.
It will typically look something like this:
Psychology OneFile (Gale)
Contains more than 3 million articles on topics in research, clinical psychology, case studies, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
A good starting point for most research. Includes access to over 12,000 journals. Covers the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
Full text archive of over 1100 scholarly journals of major importance in many fields. Most titles are available from their first issue up to 2-5 years ago.
A 95% full text resource for news, business, financial, medical and legal information. Includes a 20 year archive of the New York Times newspaper. Search for specific legal cases Covers both U.S. and international topics and laws.
Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale)
Provides access to over 4 million articles in law & law enforcement, Homeland Security, forensic science, sociology and social policy and public administration.
Sage Journals Online
Articles from more than 500 journals in business, humanities, social sciences, and science, technology and medicine. Full text is available for all articles published from 1999 to current.