Skip to main content
Geology Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The list below is just a selection. Check the catalog for additional online and print reference books on topics in geology.
Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences
Definitions on topics such as climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, palaeontology, petrology, and volcanology.
Oxford Companion to Earth
Covers topics in the Earth Sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy, and oceanography, are included.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology (Credo)
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, illustrations, and international case studies associated with environmental protection and resource management.
Encyclopedia of Volcanoes
Organized thematically around the melting of the earth, this encyclopedia provides comprehensive information on the multiple influences of volcanic eruptions--both the destructive as well as the beneficial aspects.
Guide to Global Hazards
Describes a complete range of hazards, from earthquakes, hurricanes, and volcanoes to drought and flooding. Includes color artworks and photographs and case histories of major disasters.
Guide to Gems
Describes the geology, chemistry, and properties of gems in clear and accessible terms.
Guide to Minerals, Rocks and Fossils
An online identification guide to minerals, rocks, and fossils of the world. Over 600 specimens in full color with over 300 line drawings identifying structures and features.
Take a look!
Check the catalog for additional online and print books on topics in geology.
Why Geology Matters by
Call Number: Ebook - Click the title link to access the full text.
Publication Date: 2011-05-02