Skip to main content
Environmental Science Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The list below is just a selection. Check the catalog for additional online and print reference books on topics in environmental science.
Dictionary of Environmental Science and Technology (Credo)
Includes in-depth entries on scientific and technical terminology, illustrations, and international case studies associated with environmental protection and resource management.
A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation (Oxford Reference Online)
Contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of environmental science and conservation. Social as well as scientific in focus.
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management, Blackwell Science
A guide to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science and Technology (Credo)
Includes coverage of all areas of science and technology, including biomedical science, chemistry, cosmology, information science, environmental science, nanotechnology, and theoretical physics.
A Dictionary of Earth Sciences (Oxford Reference Online)
Includes entries related to geology, oceanography, paleontology, minerology, volcanology, and planetary science as well as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.
A Supplementary Dictionary of Renewable Energy and Sustainability
Includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fueled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
Tom McCall Preserve, Oregon
Photo credit: Krista Reynolds, 2007
Trace American thought on the environment through this unique collection of writings from the Bible to the 21st century.
The Environmental Debate: A Documentary History
This collection of primary documents examines the evolution of concern about environmental degradation, pollution, and resource conservation in America from the Colonial period the present.