Skip to main content
Information About Birds
Birds: The Cornell Lab of Ornithology
Provides an online bird identification guide (All About Birds) with songs and distribution information and other resources related to the study of birds.
Find print bird guides in the Main Collection QL 681 through QL 696.
Searchable Ornithological Research Archive (SORA)
Open access electronic journal archive which provides access to an extensive ornithological literature of international scope and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years.
A publication of the American Ornithologists' Union. Articles are available full text from 1884-2007. Log in to the Intranet to access full text.
An international journal that publishes original research reports, review articles, and commentary pertaining to the biology of wild bird species. Full text articles are available from 1900-2007. Log in to the Intranet to access full text.
Global Raptor Information Network (GRIN)
Click the Search link on GRIN's site to locate articles and book chapters focused on raptor species. GRIN will supply free copies of articles, upon request.
A global partnership of 100+ conservation organizations that strives to conserve birds, their habitats and global biodiversity. Find information about worldwide bird populations, research, and conservation activities.
Bird Population Studies - Patuxent Wildlife Research Center (USGS)
Find links to the North American Breeding Bird Survey (1966-2009), Audubon Christmas bird counts, and bird identification resources.
Launched in 2002 by the Cornell Lab of Ornithology and National Audubon Society, eBird provides data sources for basic information on bird abundance and distribution at a variety of spatial and temporal scales.
Migratory Bird Program (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service)
Find information about avian health and disease, bird management, hazards, hunting, and more.
Partners in Flight
A nonprofit organization which collects and shares data in two separate databases: the Species Assessment Database and the Population Estimates Database.
National Audubon Society
Find information about conservation issues affecting birds and links to educational resources.
The Peregrine Fund
A conservation organization focused on restoring bird of prey populations through captive breeding and release programs and protecting habitat.
Check these out!
Books about birds are found in the QL 671-699 section of the collection. Browse the shelves or search the catalog to discover additional resources!
Bird Identification App
Audubon Bird Guide
Includes 995 species. Users can track all of their sightings in the My Journal section by adding location details, weather descriptions, photos, notes, and more. For iPhone and iPad. $$