Skip to main content
Botany & Zoology Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
The list below is just a selection. Check the catalog for additional online and print reference books on topics in biology.
Dictionary of Animal Behavior
Online dictionary from Oxford Reference which covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology.
Dictionary of Plant Sciences
Worldwide coverage of taxonomic groups, from bacteria and fungi to flowering and non-flowering plants.
Dictionary of Zoology
Over 5,000 entries on animal behaviour, genetics, evolutionary studies, ecology, physiology, genetics, cytology, earth history, and zoogeography.
Encyclopedia of Underwater Life
Online encyclopedia from Oxford Reference. Covers anatomy, behavior, habitat, breeding, and conservation status of river, lake, and ocean dwelling species.
New Encyclopedia of Birds
Online encyclopedia from Oxford Reference. Entries prepared by a team of biologists and conservationists give a systematic account of every family, covering form and function, distribution, diet, social behaviour, and breeding biology of birds worldwide.
Other Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Dictionary of Ecology
An online dictionary from Oxford Reference Online with 5,000 entries on ecology topics.
Dictionary of Environment and Conservation
International in scope, this dictionary embraces a spectrum of environmental areas including sustainable development, biodiversity, conservation, environmental ethics, philosophy, and history, resource management, sociology, and policy on the environment.
Dictionary of Genetics
Online dictionary from Oxford Reference. Includes 7,000 cross-referenced definitions supported by a collection of line drawings, tables, and chemical formulae.
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology
Search this resource to locate information on the latest developments in the field, entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles, and extensive cross-referencing between topics in microbiology.
Science and Technology Dictionaries (Oxford Online Reference)
Dictionaries on biology topics, including biographical information, ecology, plant sciences and more.
Science Dictionaries (Credo)
Online dictionaries in biology, astronomy, physics and mathematics.