Skip to main content
Browse the Collection
Browse for Sociology books in the library's main collection at the following call numbers:
HM- General Sociology books
If a book is not available at Concordia, but through another Summit library, you may request the item to be sent to Concordia.
Follow these steps to request a book through Summit:
- Find the source you need using the library's search tool Search@CU Libraries
- Click on "Sign In" on the top left corner and sign in using your CU network username and password.
- In the record of the book, click on "Availability and Requesting Options".
- Click on "Request from Summit ".
- Next, complete the request form.
- If requesting a multi-volume source, indicate what volume you want.
- The pickup location will default to Concordia.
- Click on the "Request" button.
You will receive an email when the item is ready for pickup.
Search for Books, Articles, & More
Search for books, journals, maps, images, etc., in the CU Libraries collection.
Search for scholarly resources from the CU Libraries, Summit, or via ILL.
Search for books to request from Summit (libraries in OR, WA, ID).
Search for Course Reserves by item, instructor, or course number and name.
Sociology Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Use encyclopedias or dictionaries for general overviews and terms on a Sociology- related topics.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by Providing an authoritative and comprehensive overview of the classical and the contemporary, this volume is an indispensable guide to the vibrant and expanding field of sociology. Featuring over 600 entries, from concise definitions to discursive essays, written by leading international academics, the Dictionary offers a truly global perspective, examining both American and European traditions and approaches. Entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognising the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism. Most entries incorporate references for further reading and a cross-referencing system enables easy access to related areas. This Dictionary is an invaluable reference work for students and academics alike and will help to define the field of sociology in years to come.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2008-05-22
The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by This concise encyclopedia is the most complete international survey of sociology ever created in one volume. Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline Distilled from the highly regarded Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology, with entries completely revised and updated to provide succinct and up-to-date coverage of the fundamental topics Global in scope, both in terms of topics and contributors Each entry includes references and suggestions for further reading Cross-referencing allows easy movement around the volume
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2010-12-03
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research by Presents research and findings in the study of sociology. This book discusses topics that include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; and, everyday theorising and the construction of knowledge.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
General Sociology Books
Contemporary Sociological Theories by In this volume Sandro Segre provides a comprehensive overview of the major theoretical perspectives in contemporary sociology. The perspectives are divided into four sections: Interpretative Sociology; Structuralist Sociology; Micro and Macrosociological Perspectives; and Historical and Philosophical Perspectives. An introduction to each section provides a detailed overview of the key concepts and figures who contributed to the perspectives. An analysis of their reception in the secondary literature and a balanced evaluation of each perspective derived from extant critical literature are also provided.
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Issues in Sociology by Sociology is the systematic study of the taken-for-granted assumptions that people make about everyday life. This book explores a triumvirate of important concepts in sociology: power, trust and globalisation. These concepts and examples need to be studied so assumptions masquerading as fact can be debunked by critical sociological questioning. We explore domains such as politics and government, health and community care as well as global financial issues, which are all centrally relevant issues in modern Sociology.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Society by Seeing Sociology in your Everyday Life empowers students to understand the world around them through a sociological lens, so they can better understand sociology and their own lives. Society: The Basics, 12th edition is written to help students find and use sociology in everyday life. With a complete theoretical framework and a global perspective, Society: The Basics offers students an accessible and relevant introduction to sociology. The new edition continues to grow to meet readers changing needs. With a newly integrated pedagogical framework, readers are guided through both the text - and optional new MySocLab - to build their critical thinking skills while learning the fundamentals of sociology.
Call Number: HM586 .M1657 2013
Publication Date: 2012-05-29