Skip to main content
Click here for a full list of all of the databases the library subscribes to. Filter by subject or database type (article, e-book, etc).
Item not available through the library? Request it through InterLibrary Loan.
If you are prompted to login to see an article, video, image or ebook, use your Campus/Blackboard username and password. Questions? Contact the library.
To find articles, start with the Library's primary search tool, called OneSearch. OneSearch searches all of the library's databases at once along with the library's collections of print books, e-books, journals, media, and more. Or, you can individually search the Sociology databases that are listed on this page.
Sociology Focused Databases
Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts (ASSIA) (ProQuest)
This database is designed to meet the information needs of the caring professions, and spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals, from more than 16 countries.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest)
Includes over 3 million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles.
Social Science Database (ProQuest)
This database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from thousands of serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers.
Sociology Database (ProQuest)
This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)
This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
Criminal Justice OneFile (Gale)
Provides access to over 4 million articles in law & law enforcement, Homeland Security, forensic science, sociology and social policy and public administration.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest)
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.