Skip to main content

Finding & Using Permalinks: Permalinks

Instructions for locating article and ebook permalinks in the CU Libraries' databases.

Library FAQs

You can also find information on using library resources in our FAQs:

Other Names

Not all databases use the word "permalink." You may see them referred to as:

  • permanent link (or URL)
  • persistent link (or URL)
  • stable link (or URL)
  • document link (or URL)

And some databases just use the word "link."

Why use a permalink?

Saving the link to an article from a database can be tricky. Many students just copy and save the link from the address bar, but these links often create problems when you try to access the article again later.

The solution is to use a permalink instead. Permalinks are—wait for it—permanent links assigned to a specific article by the database. Using the permalink makes getting back to the article much easier.

So how do you find an article's permalink? This guide will show you how to find permalins for articles and ebooks in the Concordia University Libraries' catalog and databases.

Where you will find the permalink in each database is slightly different. So, each tab in the guide is devoted to a single database or database group, and provides text instructions, screen shots, and short video tutorials on the process.

What is a proxy prefix? (And what's a proxy server?)

For some permalinks in this guide, you might see references to a "proxy prefix." CU libraries uses a proxy so that students and faculty can log in to research databases anywhere, on-campus or off. The proxy prefix is a string of text in front of a URL that lets the server know that you want to log in through Concordia's subscription.

Concordia University Libraries’ proxy prefix looks like this, and it is usually at the front of a URL: http://cupdx.idm.oclc.org/login?url=

However, sometimes the proxy prefix will be located after a site’s domain, such as when you copy a permanent link. In these cases, the URL will look like this: http://search.proquest.com.cupdx.idm.oclc.org/docview/871158673?accountid=10248

The most important thing to remember is that in order for the library’s licensed resources to work off-campus, URLs must contain the proxy prefix.

/**/