Skip to main content
Use this page to choose your reformer and to discover the times in which they lived.
Edith Abbott - Social Work Pioneer
Edith Abbott (1856-1957) Social Work Pioneer
Image links to list of 9 Most Influential Women of Social Work
U.S. History of Social Welfare & Public Welfare and Its Pioneers/ Reformers
NASW Pioneers Honors List
NASW Pioneers are social workers who have explored new territories and built outposts for human services on many frontiers.
The Social Welfare History Project
An extensive list of significant individuals in the history of American social welfare. Includes some portraits.
A-Z Databases: Social Work
A collection of databases suggested for research in the area of social work. Start with those listed as Best Bets!
**Tip** For this assignment I would also recommend JSTOR - a database that includes older article content from many disciplines
Database Search Tips:
- Search using keywords connected with AND, not long phrases
- e.g. "Edith Abbott" AND "social work education"
- Search by Author for works by your pioneer/reformer
Why use a book and how to find them......
- Use books to get an overview of a topic, learn trends, and find keywords for searching for more information on your topic.
- Need to find a book in the CU Library collection? The library catalog (OneSearch) is the place to go to locate books, DVDs, and videos.
- In addition to our print collection, there are more than 400,000 electronic books available to you through the catalog. Ebooks have the same content as the print copy, but the entire text is online.
American Reformers 1870-1920 by
Call Number: Log in and request from Summit
Publication Date: 2006
Piott explores the lives of twelve influential American reformers of the Gilded Age, Populist, and Progressive eras.
Heroines of Service by
Call Number: Project Gutenberg ebook Access online
Publication Date: 1921
Mary Lyon, Alice Freeman Palmer , Clara Barton, Frances Willard , Julia Ward Howe, Anna Shaw. Mary Antin, Alic C. Fletcher, Mary Slessor of Calabar, Madame Curie, Jane Addams
Use these sites to find biographies, works by and works about your reformer.
Search for Books, Articles, & More