Skip to main content
Often, changes in social policy make the news. When they do, news articles may contain helpful background information that can lead you to the more in-depth coverage you'll need for your assignment. For example, news coverage of legislative policy changes almost always include the bill number, which you can use to look up the exact wording of the policy. News coverage can also let you know who supports a policy and why.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context)
Provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of subjects ranging from ongoing controversies to today's hot-button issues.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Our reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.
Search across 1 billion articles from hundreds of newspapers.
The Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as national and global general news. Click "View Titles" to see papers by date. Covers 1984 to present.
The New York Times (ProQuest)
View content from nytimes.com via the library's subscription. Covers 1980-present.
The Washington Post (ProQuest)
View content from washingtonpost.com via the library's subscription. Covers 1987-present.