Skip to main content
National Statistics & Demographics
Data.Census.Gov (formerly American Fact Finder)
The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy. This is the new platform for census data; American Fact Finder, the former platform, is no longer being updated.
Home of the government's open data. Search with keywords or browse by subject.
"FedStats ... provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic."
Local & Statewide Statistics & Demographics
County and City Data Book: 2007
"The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas." [NOTE: The Census Bureau discontinued this publication due to budgetary concerns. This is the last edition. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table. If you have questions about how to do so, please contact a librarian.]
County Business Patterns | U.S. Census Bureau
"County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
Locate demographic and statistical information based on location via the maps. Possibilities include: assessor/tax lot information, aerial photography, building footprints, building permits, parks. mass transit, schools, etc.
QuickFacts for State & Counties (U.S. Census)
Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book 2010
"The State and Metropolitan Area Data Book features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources." [NOTE: The Census Bureau discontinued this publication due to budgetary concerns. This is the last edition. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table. If you have questions about how to do so, please contact a librarian.]
Databases w/Business Statistics
Business Insights: Global (Gale)
Research and analyze companies based on industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories.
A 95% full text resource for news, business, financial, medical and legal information. Includes a 20 year archive of the New York Times newspaper. Search for specific legal cases. Covers both U.S. and international topics and laws.
Under "Search by Content Type," select from one of three options:
- Dossier (Company, Executive, & Industry)
- Company Profiles
- SEC Filings
Business & Industry Statistics
Business & Industry | U.S. Census Bureau
Provides business and industry statistics: economy-wide, construction, governments, international trade, manufacturing, retail trade, services, wholesale trade, other sectors.
Economic Census | U.S. Census Bureau
"The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy." Use information from the Economic Census to locate information about business patterns, identity markets, compare businesses and communities, etc.
Industry Statistics Portal | U.S. Census Bureau
"Provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry."
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade | U.S. Census Bureau
Provides data on retail economic activity via monthly and annual retail trade reports.
Statistics for Specific Industries | U.S. Small Business Administration
Provides statistics in the following industries: agriculture, banking, energy, environment, health and safety, housing, transportation.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is the " agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
Consumer Data & Demographics
American Customer Satisfaction Index
"The American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the only national cross-industry measure of customer satisfaction in the United States. The Index measures the satisfaction of U.S. household consumers with the quality of products and services offered by both foreign and domestic firms with significant share in U.S. markets. The ACSI benefits business, researchers, policymakers, and consumers alike by serving as a national indicator of the health of the U.S. economy, as well as a tool for gauging the competitiveness of individual firms and predicting future profitability."
Consumer Expenditure Survey
"The Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) program consists of two surveys, the Quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics. The survey data are collected for the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau."
Consumer Price Index
"The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services."
National Customer Satisfaction Index-UK
"The National Customer Satisfaction Index-United Kingdom (NCSI-UK) harnesses the proven power of the American Customer Satisfaction Index (www.theacsi.org). The NCSI-UK enables companies to benchmark customer satisfaction results with industry peers and best-in-class companies. This powerful and market-leading approach helps marketing professionals link the drivers of satisfaction and loyalty to their company's market strength and financial performance."